Close this search box.

Nigeria’s Afrobeats’ Stars Shine Bright with Multiple BET Awards Nominations

Four Nigeria’s Afrobeats’ stars – Burna Boy, Tems, Asake, and Ayra Starr – have been nominated for multiple categories at the 2023 Black Entertainment Television (BET) Awards, which will take place in Los Angeles on Sunday, June 25.
June 9, 2023
4:23 pm
Burna Boy BET

Leading the pack is Burna Boy, whose global appeal and distinct Afrobeats’ sound have catapulted him to international stardom. The talented artist has received multiple nominations, including Male Artist R&B/Pop Artist, Video Director of the Year, and Best International Act. Burna Boy’s mesmerizing music videos and undeniable talent have garnered critical acclaim, cementing his status as one of the industry’s brightest stars.


Also, Tems, the soulful songstress known for her captivating voice and introspective lyrics, has been acknowledged for her remarkable talent. She has been nominated for Best Female Artist and Best Collaboration for her notable contribution to Future’s hit track, ‘Wait For U.’ This recognition serves as a testament to Tems’ growing prominence in the music industry and her ability to captivate listeners with her soul-stirring music.


Tems RCA Records

Additionally, Ayra Starr and Asake have both received their debut BET nominations, marking significant milestones in their burgeoning careers. Ayra Starr’s exceptional vocal range and artistic versatility have earned her a nomination in the highly competitive Best International Act category whereas Asake, celebrated for his infectious melodies and energetic performances, has been recognized in the Best New International Act category. These nominations highlight the rising influence of these talented artists and their potential to make a lasting impact on the global music scene.


The BET Awards, presented by Black Entertainment Television, have long celebrated the achievements of Black artists and entertainers worldwide. The nominations of Burna Boy, Tems, Asake, and Ayra Starr underscore the global appeal of Nigerian music and its ability to captivate diverse audiences across continents. As the Nigerian music industry continues to flourish, these nominations highlight the country’s rich musical heritage and its growing significance on the international stage.


Ayra Starr GLAMOUR

The 2023 BET Awards promises an evening filled with electrifying performances and intense competition as artists from various genres vie for recognition in their respective categories. With the likes of Burna Boy, Tems, Asake, and Ayra Starr representing Nigeria, music enthusiasts can eagerly anticipate a celebration of African talent and the power of music to unite audiences worldwide.



See Full Nominee list below:

Album of the Year

Anyways, Life’s Great, GloRilla

Breezy, Chris Brown

God Did, DJ Khaled

Her Loss, Drake & 21 Savage

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers, Kendrick Lamar

Renaissance, Beyoncé



Best Female R&B/Pop Artist

Ari Lennox


Coco Jones






Best Male R&B/Pop Artist


Brent Faiyaz

Burna Boy

Chris Brown


The Weeknd



Best Group

City Girls

Drake & 21 Savage


Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

Quavo & Takeoff



Best Collaboration

“Big Energy (Remix),” Latto & Mariah Carey Feat. Dj Khaled

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spice

“Call Me Every Day,” Chris Brown Feat. Wizkid

“Can’t Stop Won’t Stop,” King Combs Feat. Kodak Black

“Creepin’,” Metro Boomin, The Weeknd & 21 Savage

“F.N.F. (Let’s Go),” Hitkidd & GloRilla

“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B

“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems


Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray


Ice Spice


Megan Thee Stallion

Nicki Minaj


Best Male Hip Hop Artist

21 Savage



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Kendrick Lamar

Lil Baby


Video of the Year

“We (Warm Embrace),” Chris Brown

“2 Million Up,” Peezy, Jeezy & Real Boston Richey feat. Rob49

“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Bad Habit,” Steve Lacy

“First Class,” Harlow

“Kill Bill,” SZA

“Tomorrow 2,” GloRilla & Cardi B


Video Director of the Year

A$AP Rocky for AWGE

Benny Boom

Burna Boy

Cole Bennett

Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar

Director X

Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor


Best New Artist


Coco Jones




Ice Spice

Lola Brooke


Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

“Bless Me,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

“Finished (Live),” Tamela Mann

“I’ve Got Joy,” CeCe Winans

“Kingdom,” Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin feat. Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore

“New,” Tye Tribbett

“One Moment from Glory,” Yolanda Adams

“The Better Benediction (Pt.2),” PJ Morton feat. Lisa Knowles-Smith, Le’andria Johnson, Keke Wyatt, Kierra Sheard & Tasha Cobbs Leonard


Viewer’s Choice Award

“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé

“First Class,” Jack Harlow

“Jimmy Cooks,” Drake Feat 21 Savage

“Kill Bill,” SZA

“Last Last,” Burna Boy

“Super Freaky Girl,” Nicki Minaj

“Wait For U,” Future Feat. Drake & Tems


Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Ayra Starr (Nigeria)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Central Cee (UK)

Ella Mai (UK)

Ko (South Africa)

L7nnon (Brazil)

Stormzy (UK)

Tiakola (France)

Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)


Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

Asake (Nigeria)

Camidoh (Ghana)

Flo (UK)

Libianca (Cameroon)

Maureen (France)

MC Ryan SP (Brazil)

Pabi Cooper (South Africa)

Raye (UK)

Werenoi (France)



“About Damn Time,” Lizzo

“Boy’s A Liar Pt. 2,” Pinkpantheress & Ice Spic

“Break My Soul,” Beyoncé

“Her,” Megan Thee Stallion

“Lift Me Up,” Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music from And Inspired By – Rihanna & Ludwig Göransson

“Players,” Coi Leray

“Special,” Lizzo


Best Movie

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Creed 3



The Woman King


Whitney Houston: I Wanna Dance with Somebody


Best Actor

Amin Joseph

Brian Tyree Henry

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Demetrius ‘Lil Meech’ Flenory Jr.

Donald Glover

Michael B. Jordan


Best Actress

Angela Bassett

Coco Jones

Janelle James

Janelle Monáe

Keke Palmer

Viola Davis



Youngstars Award

Akira Akbar

Alaya High

Demi Singleton

Genesis Denise

Marsai Martin

Thaddeus J. Mixson

Young Dylan


Sportswoman of the Year Award

Alexis Morris

Allyson Felix

Angel Reese

Candace Parker

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Sha’carri Richardson


Sportsman of the Year Award

Aaron Judge

Bubba Wallace

Gervonta Davis

Jalen Hurts

Lebron James

Patrick Mahomes

Stephen Curry


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: TNR Content is protected !!









Alerts & Newsletters

© Rhythm Media Group LLC 2022