Close this search box.

Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 Announces Winners

The global competition honors six exceptional filmmakers in the ceremony held at Los Angeles.
June 3, 2024
9:10 am
Imogene by Katie Blair
Imogene by Katie Blair

The winners of the second annual Sony Future Filmmaker Awards were announced on May 30, 2024, in a ceremony hosted by Entertainment Tonight’s correspondent Denny Directo.


The awards, established by Creo and sponsored by Sony, aim to foster the development of exceptional cinematic talent and promote filmmakers with a unique storytelling perspective.


A distinguished panel of judges, chaired by Justin Chadwick, selected six winners from over 8,400 films submitted by more than 5,000 filmmakers across 148 countries.


The 2024 winners are Katie Blair (USA, Fiction), Olawunmi Hassan & Adaobi Samson (Nigeria, Non-Fiction), Solmund MacPherson (Canada, Environment), Kyle Novak (Czech Republic, Animation), Raheem Razak (South Africa, Student), and Cristian Daniel (Uruguay, Future Format).


The winners participated in a week-long industry immersion program, including workshops led by Sony Pictures executives. They gained insights from major cinematographers, explored working with talent agencies, and delved into innovative technologies and animation. The winners also received cash prizes and Sony camera equipment.


The jury, featuring prominent figures like Michael Barker, Tom Bernard, Rob Hardy, and Kate Reid, praised the winners for their innovative storytelling and originality.


The Sony Future Filmmaker Awards will return for a third edition in spring 2025, with submissions opening later this year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: TNR Content is protected !!









Alerts & Newsletters

© Rhythm Media Group LLC 2022